Roles and responsibilities


This section provides an overview of board's governance role, including responsibility for reviewing corporate strategies, shaping the culture, setting the tone at the top, and promulgating the organization's vision, values and core beliefs.

Governance refers to the processes and structures used to direct and manage an organization's operations and activities. It defines the division of power and establishes mechanisms to achieve accountability among stakeholders, the board of directors and management.

Good governance systems are designed to help organizations focus on the activities that contribute most to their overall objectives, use their resources effectively, and ensure that they are managed in the best interests of their stakeholders.

In summary, the objective of good governance is to ensure that the organization achieves its objectives by being able to put forth its best efforts to implement its strategies and make the best use of its resources.

Boards of every organization must clearly understand and agree upon their responsibilities and mandate.

To help ensure that they discharge their stewardship responsibilities effectively, regulators recommend that boards of publicly-listed companies adopt a formal mandate that sets out the responsibilities of the board and its committees, in particular those decisions that require the prior approval of the board. Boards of non-listed entities would similarly benefit from having a formal mandate.

The purpose of the mandate is to ensure that no expectation gaps exist between the board, management and other stakeholders with regard to the board's role. The mandate should clearly define the board's authority, responsibilities and accountabilities. It should also serve as a key component for various board activities. For example, the mandate is the basis of the board's "work plan," which is a translation of the board's agreed upon responsibilities (as outlined in its mandate) into agenda tasks to ensure that each responsibility is addressed appropriately. The mandate also provides a foundation for the board's self-evaluation of its effectiveness in carrying out its responsibilities.

Board committees should have their own mandates, often called "charters," that describe the way in which they carry out the duties and responsibilities delegated to them by the board.

Typically, a board mandate includes components that provide descriptions of the board's:

  • Responsibilities
  • Composition, including the size of the board, how board members are identified and criteria for board membership and board committees
  • Key processes, including the number of board meetings, procedures for setting agendas, minutes, and
  • Evaluations, accountabilities and required reporting.


Once approved, the board should publish its mandate so it is available to all members of the board, management and other stakeholders. A best practice is to include the board's mandate in the Annual Report and to post it on the organization's website.

Review our sections dedicated to the different organization types:



​​Authoritative Guidance
​Thought leadership

Conseil d'administration

Rôles et responsabilités


Cette section décrit dans ses grandes lignes le rôle du conseil d'administration en matière de gouvernance, qui comprend la responsabilité d'examiner les stratégies d'affaires, de façonner la culture d'entreprise, de donner le ton et de diffuser la vision, les valeurs et les croyances fondamentales de l'organisation.

Par gouvernance, on entend la démarche et la structure servant à orienter et à gérer l'organisme et ses activités. C'est un mécanisme pour bien répartir le pouvoir et la responsabilisation entre les parties prenantes, le conseil et la direction.

Un bon système de gouvernance aide l'organisme à se concentrer sur les activités qui contribuent le plus à l'atteinte de ses objectifs généraux, à utiliser ses ressources efficacement et à veiller à ce qu'il soit géré pour le bien des parties prenantes.

En bref, une bonne gouvernance vise à donner à l'organisme les moyens de réaliser ses objectifs parce qu'il peut consacrer tous ses efforts à mettre en œuvre sa stratégie et tirer le meilleur parti de ses ressources.

Les conseils de tous les organismes doivent bien comprendre et clairement accepter leurs responsabilités et leur mandat.

Pour qu'une société ouverte s'acquitte bien de ses fonctions de gérance, les autorités de réglementation recommandent que son conseil adopte officiellement un mandat ou une charte. Ce document sert à énoncer les responsabilités du conseil et de ses comités, et à préciser les décisions qui nécessitent l'autorisation préalable du conseil. Il serait également avantageux pour les conseils d'administration des autres sociétés d'adopter officiellement un mandat.

Le mandat est le document qui permet au conseil, à la direction et aux parties prenantes de bien s'entendre sur le rôle du conseil. Il définit l'autorité du conseil, ses responsabilités et ses obligations redditionnelles. Il joue un rôle important dans différentes activités du conseil. Il constitue en effet la base de son « plan de travail », le moyen de traduire les responsabilités qui lui sont dévolues (selon le mandat) en tâches à accomplir, pour qu'il assume correctement chacune de ces responsabilités. Il est enfin la référence qui permet au conseil d'évaluer sa propre efficacité dans l'exercice de ses responsabilités.

Chaque comité du conseil doit avoir son propre mandat, souvent appelé « charte », où sont précisées les règles à suivre pour l'exécution des fonctions et l'exercice des responsabilités déléguées par le conseil.

Le mandat du conseil précise, en règle générale :

  • les responsabilités du conseil;
  • sa composition, notamment le nombre de membres, l'identification de ses membres, les critères d'appartenance au conseil et ses comités;
  • ses procédures clés, dont le nombre de réunions, les méthodes suivies pour déterminer l'ordre du jour, rédiger les procès-verbaux, etc.;
  • ses évaluations, ses obligations redditionnelles et ses obligations d'information.


Le conseil devrait publier son mandat, une fois approuvé, pour que les administrateurs, la direction et les parties prenantes puissent en prendre connaissance. L'une des meilleures pratiques est d'inclure le mandat du conseil dans le rapport annuel et de le publier sur le site Web de l'organisme.

Consulter nos sections dédiées aux différents types d'organisation:



Directives faisant autorité
Leadership éclairé


Ressources en anglais :