What's new

This page provides a list of the most recent materials posted to the website.

Is it time to review your board of director compensation program? Is it time to review your board of director compensation program?

On the board's agenda

Board compensation is on investors' radar. Unlike compensation for executives, non-employee director compensation is not subject to independent review. While shareholders must approve equity plans in which non-employee directors may participate, and while those plans frequently include limitations on individual equity grants or aggregate pay levels, shareholders are not required to approve the director compensation program as a whole. As a result, non-employee director compensation programs that result in high levels of pay can be a lightning rod for proxy advisor firm criticism, shareholder litigation, negative media attention, and more.
March 2018

Directors' Alert 2018 Directors' Alert 2018

Linkages to success

How is your board involved with protecting and enhancing your organizations’ reputation? Hear from several Deloitte business leaders and independent global directors as they examine strategies boards can pursue to protect and enhance their organizations’ reputation in today’s hyper-connected world.
February 2018

Cyber risk in the boardroom Cyber risk in the boardroom

Accelerating from acceptance to action

Cyber risk is a top-level business risk that boards may find challenging to oversee and difficult to address. By using a maturity model for board stewardship of cyber risk and understanding the actions available at each level of maturity, boards can accelerate their transition from awareness to meaningful oversight.
February 2018

Navigating annual reporting Navigating annual reporting

A checklist to support your financial reporting oversight

Overcome the challenges by meeting always-evolving financial reporting standards and ensuring that you are asking the right questions.
February 2018

Observations from a review of public filings by early adopters of the new revenue standard Observations from a review of public filings by early adopters of the new revenue standard

This Heads Up provides insight into our review of the disclosures in the public filings of a group of companies that early adopted the standard in 2017. Entities adopting the standard beginning in 2018 may benefit from evaluating the disclosure trends we have observed as a result of this review.
January 2018

Lease accounting: Implementation enters the final stretch Lease accounting: Implementation enters the final stretch

Deloitte U.S. dBrief webcast

Following the recent Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB) meeting, lease accounting compliance is likely to include new options for companies to consider. What will these changes mean for US publicly traded companies as compliance with the new lease accounting rule begins in 2019? Participants will hear perspectives on these and other hot topics as the effective date for the new lease accounting rule fast approaches.
January 31, 2018

2017 Global Impact Report 2017 Global Impact Report

Are you ready?

Tremendous opportunities emerge almost daily, and organizations that are ready to seize these opportunities know that:

  • Relevancy requires vision, deep insights, and speed
  • Excellence stems from blending disciplined execution with innovation and transformative ideas
  • Evolving needs of clients and professionals necessitate smart collaboration and strong relationships
  • Getting results starts with asking the right questions and making a steadfast commitment to purpose as the inspiration for operational and talent strategies
  • Advancing society means thinking beyond business implications

Deloitte is prepared to take on the challenges of a changing world, to seize the opportunities of a new era, and to advise clients as they do the same. Deloitte is ready.
January 2018

Frequently Asked Questions About U.S. Tax Reform Frequently Asked Questions About U.S. Tax Reform

This Financial Reporting Alert contains responses to frequently asked questions about how an entity should account for the tax effects of the Act in accordance with ASC 740.
January 2018

The 2018 boardroom agenda The 2018 boardroom agenda

Dealing with challenges old and new

Regardless of size, industry and other characteristics, companies frequently face a constant stream of challenges. These can include perennial challenges that require ongoing or periodic attention, as well as new challenges that seem to arise regularly. Developments in 2017 demonstrate the range and depth of the challenges faced by boards. Perennial challenges include strategy, risk, compensation, shareholder engagement and regulatory uncertainty; evolving challenges include board composition, social responsibility, technology risk, culture risk and the combination of innovation and disruption. It is likely that some, if not all, of these items could be on the board’s agenda in 2018.
January 2018

Global perspectives for private companies CFO Insights: 2017 Q4 CFO Signals™ Survey Results

Global economic growth underpins optimism entering 2018

What is driving CFOs’ optimism as they look toward 2018? To answer this question, this quarter’s survey explores CFOs’ perspectives regarding major economies, government policy, megatrends and disruptors, and their own companies’ plans.
January 2018

Nouveautés

Is it time to review your board of director compensation program? Is it time to review your board of director compensation program? (en anglais)

On the board's agenda

Les investisseurs s’intéressent de près à la rémunération des conseils d’administration. Contrairement à la rémunération des membres de la direction, la rémunération des administrateurs n’est pas assujettie à un examen indépendant. Bien que les actionnaires doivent approuver les régimes fondés sur des titres de capitaux propres auxquels les administrateurs peuvent participer, et bien que ces régimes comprennent souvent des limites sur les attributions individuelles de titres de capitaux propres et les niveaux de cumul de la rémunération, les actionnaires n’ont pas l’obligation d’approuver le programme de rémunération des administrateurs dans son ensemble. Par conséquent, les programmes qui permettent des niveaux élevés de rémunération des administrateurs peuvent susciter des critiques d’agences de conseil en vote, entraîner des litiges avec les actionnaires, faire l’objet d’une couverture médiatique négative et plus encore.
Mars 2018

Directors' Alert 2018 Directors' Alert 2018 (en anglais)

Linkages to success

Comment votre conseil d’administration participe-t-il à la protection et à l’amélioration de la réputation de votre société? Découvrez les points de vue de plusieurs leaders d’affaires de Deloitte et d’administrateurs indépendants de partout dans le monde en ce qui a trait aux stratégies que les conseils d’administration peuvent adopter pour protéger et améliorer la réputation de leur société dans le monde hyperrelié d’aujourd’hui.
Février 2018

Cyber risk in the boardroom Cyber risk in the boardroom (en anglais)

Accelerating from acceptance to action

Le cyberrisque représente un risque d’entreprise considérable qui pose un défi pour les conseils d’administration, qui peuvent trouver difficile de surveiller ce risque et d’y répondre de façon appropriée. Les conseils d’administration qui se servent d’un modèle de maturité pour gérer le cyberrisque et comprendre les mesures possibles à chaque niveau de maturité peuvent passer plus rapidement d’une simple conscience de ce risque à une surveillance efficace.
Février 2018

Guide d'examen de l'information financière annuelle Guide d'examen de l'information financière annuelle

Un outil pour vous accompagner dans la surveillance de l’information financière

Surmontez les difficultés en respectant les normes d’information financière, qui évoluent sans cesse, et en posant les bonnes questions.
Février 2018

Observations from a review of public filings by early adopters of the new revenue standard Observations from a review of public filings by early adopters of the new revenue standard (en anglais)

Ce bulletin Heads Up décrit les observations de Deloitte découlant de notre examen des informations fournies dans les dépôts publics d’un groupe de sociétés qui ont adopté par anticipation la nouvelle norme sur les produits du FASB (ASC 606) en 2017. Les entités qui adoptent la norme en 2018 pourraient trouver utile d’évaluer les tendances dans les informations fournies que nous avons relevées dans le cadre de cet examen.
Janvier 2018

Lease accounting: Implementation enters the final stretch Lease accounting: Implementation enters the final stretch (en anglais)           

Webémission Dbriefs de Deloitte É.-U.

En raison des décisions prises lors de la récente réunion du Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB), il est probable que de nouvelles options seront proposées aux sociétés pour se conformer aux dispositions sur la comptabilisation des contrats de location. Qu’est-ce que cela signifie pour les sociétés cotées aux États-Unis qui doivent se conformer à la nouvelle norme sur les contrats de location à compter de 2019? La webémission permettra aux participants d’en apprendre davantage sur ces questions et d’autres questions d’actualité à l’approche de l’entrée en vigueur de la nouvelle norme sur les contrats de location.
Janvier 31, 2018

2017 Global Impact Report 2017 Global Impact Report (en anglais)

Are you ready?

D’excellentes occasions se présentent presque tous les jours; les organisations qui sont prêtes à les saisir savent que :

  • pour demeurer pertinentes, elles doivent avoir une vision et faire preuve de perspicacité et de promptitude;
  • l’excellence découle d’une exécution disciplinée alliée à l’innovation et à des idées révolutionnaires;
  • les besoins changeants des clients et des professionnels exigent une collaboration éclairée et des relations solides;
  • pour obtenir des résultats, il faut d’abord poser les bonnes questions et s’engager fermement envers un but qui guide les stratégies en matière d’exploitation et de talents;
  • pour faire progresser la société, il faut aller au-delà des seules répercussions commerciales.

Deloitte est prêt à relever les défis de notre monde en constante évolution, à saisir les occasions de cette nouvelle ère et à conseiller les clients à faire de même.
Janvier 2018

Frequently Asked Questions About U.S. Tax Reform Frequently Asked Questions About U.S. Tax Reform (en anglais)

Ce communiqué Financial Reporting Alert répond à certaines des questions les plus courantes concernant la façon dont une entité doit comptabiliser les répercussions fiscales de la réforme de la fiscalité aux États-Unis, et ce, en vertu de l’ASC 740.
Janvier 2018

The 2018 boardroom agenda The 2018 boardroom agenda (en anglais)

Dealing with challenges old and new

Peu importe sa taille, son secteur d’activité et ses autres caractéristiques, chaque société est fréquemment confrontée à un flot constant de défis : certains sont récurrents et exigent une attention continue ou régulière tandis que d’autres semblent apparaître périodiquement. L’actualité en 2017 a illustré l’ampleur des défis que doivent relever les conseils d’administration. La stratégie, les risques, la rémunération, l’engagement des parties prenantes et l’incertitude réglementaire figurent parmi les défis récurrents; les nouveaux défis comprennent quant à eux la composition du conseil, la responsabilité sociale, les risques technologiques, le risque lié à la culture ainsi que l’innovation et les perturbations qui vont de pair. Il est probable que certaines, sinon l’ensemble, de ces questions figureront à l’ordre du jour des conseils d’administration en 2018.
Janvier 2018

Global perspectives for private companies CFO Insights: 2017 Q4 CFO Signals™ Survey Results (en anglais)

Global economic growth underpins optimism entering 2018

Qu’est-ce qui alimente l’optimisme des directeurs financiers en 2018? Pour trouver la réponse à cette question, le sondage de ce trimestre fait la lumière sur les perspectives des directeurs financiers à l’égard des grandes économies, des politiques gouvernementales, des tendances majeures et des perturbateurs, ainsi que sur les projets de leurs sociétés respectives.
Janvier 2018